This guide will walk you through:
- How to adjust the comment settings on your page
- How to hide a comment
- How to delete a comment
- How to ban a user
- How to report a user
- How to remove a user
Reviewing Your Page Settings
The first thing you’ll want to do is make sure your page settings support your new comment policy. Setting this up now will prevent a lot of unnecessary trouble later on.
To access these settings, click on Settings, then General.
Now that we’re on the same page (literally), let’s dive in.
First, you’ll want to decide if visitors can share content to your page. If so, you can also decide if you want to approve the content first.
You’ll find this setting under Visitor posts.
Configure your settings and hit Save Changes.
Decide whether visitors to your page can tag others in their posts. You’ll find this setting under Tagging Ability.
Similarly, decide whether others can tag your page elsewhere on Facebook. This setting is under Others tagging this page, right below Tagging Ability.
Facebook offers the ability to filter for keywords and block posts or comments that contain them. You’ll find this setting under Page moderation.
Be careful of the words you include on this list. It’s best to error on the side of too few words than too many. You don’t want to mistakenly filter out okay comments.
Right below the previous setting, you will find the Profanity Filter.
“You can choose whether to block profanity from your Page, and to what degree. Facebook determines what to block by using the most commonly reported words and phrases marked offensive by the community.”
Lastly, you can decide if comments are displayed based on date or relevance. You’ll find this setting under Comment ranking.
How To Deal With Existing Comments On Your Page/Posts
The settings above are not lock tight. You will always have trolls and comments that need attending. The following provides tips on how to deal with comments and users in the wild.
When you choose to hide a comment, it will only be visible to the commenter and their friends. To hide a comment, hover over it and click the x that appears on the right.
The following options all appear in the same place, so we’ll deal with them all here. To open these options, first hide the comment (see above).
Once hidden, the following options will open:
Facebook will ask you a series of questions to understand why the user is being reported.
How to ban a user removes them as a fan of the page. People you ban will still be able to share content from your Page to other places on Facebook, but they’ll no longer be able to publish to your Page, like or comment on your Page’s posts, message your Page or like your Page.
Removing a user is less severe than banning them.
This is a good option for people you don’t want following your Page’s posts in their News Feeds or the News Feeds of their friends. However, Pages are public spaces, and people you’ve removed can choose to like your Page again.
To remove a user, jump back into your page settings menu and select People and other pages.
Find the person you wish to remove, and click the gear icon next to them.
You’ll find the option to Remove From Page Likes and the option to Ban From Page.